Agenda :

The next Earth Summit will be held once again in Rio de Janeiro in May 2012. The objectives of the conference will be to evaluate the progresses made and the efforts remaining concerning the results and recommendations of the past conferences and to elaborate innovative solutions for emerging challenges. Two key subjects will be addressed during the Rio+20 conference:

  • green growth in a context of sustainable development and eradication of poverty
  • development of an institutional framework for sustainable development

More information on the official website of Rio+20.

Challenges :

  1. Environment and sustainable development are now inescapable matters of international diplomacy. The Earth Summits, held every ten years, and the agreements which result from them testify to the awareness of their importance and to the increasing number of collective actions undertaken.

    However, depending on the political, cultural, social, economic and environmental context, there can be important differences of perception between individuals of different countries and cultures. These diffrences arise from the information published by the media, from the everyday living conditions and from one’s cultural heritage.

  2. Even though the environment apears as a great concern of today’s young people, they often find difficult to take part in international processes along with experts and governments.

« Youth should be given a chance to take an active part in the decision-making of local, national and global levels. »

M. Ban Ki-moon, Secretary-General of the United Nation, during the launching of the International Year of Youth at the UN’s headquarters in New York City on 12th August 2010.

Read more

Rio+20


Ordre du jour :

Le prochain Sommet de la Terre se déroulera à nouveau à Rio de Janeiro, en juin 2012.  L’objectif de cette Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Développement Durable est d’évaluer les progrès et les marges de manœuvre relatives aux résultats et recommandations des conférences précédentes et de formuler des solutions innovantes pour les enjeux nouveaux. Deux sujets clés seront abordés :

  • la croissance verte alliant respect de l’environnement et éradication de la pauvreté
  • le développement d’un cadre institutionnel pour le développement durable

Plus d’informations sur le site officiel de Rio+20 (en anglais) ou sur le portail français du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Européennes pour Rio+20.


Défis :

  1. Les Sommets de la Terre, tenus tous les dix ans, et les accords qui en résultent, témoignent que l’ environnement et le développement durable sont devenus des sujets incontournables de la diplomatie internationale. Cette prise de conscience montrent que des actions collectives sont nécéssaires.

    Pourtant, selon les contextes politiques, culturels, socio-économiques, et environnementaux, d’importantes différences de perception subsistent. Ces différences dépendent à la fois de l’information relayée par les médias, du vécu au quotidien, et de l’héritage culturel.

  2. Si l’environnement apparaît comme une préocupation majeure des jeunes générations il leur est souvent difficile de participer aux processus internationaux aux côtés des experts et gouvernants.



« Au moment où nous lançons cette Année Internationale, nous devons reconnaître et célébrer ce que la jeunesse peut apporter à l’avènement d’un monde plus sûr et plus juste. Efforçons-nous de faire une place aux jeunes dans les processus de décision, les politiques et les programmes qui préparent leur avenir et le nôtre. »

M. Ban Ki-moon, Secrétaire général de l’ONU, lors du lancement de l’Année Internationale de la Jeunesse au siège de l’ONU à New York, le 12 août 2010


Lire la suite